When you delete a file or folder in Windows, it is placed in the Recycle Bin. Items are temporarily stored in the Recycle Bin before they are permanently deleted by the user. The Recycle Bin is located on the Windows desktop. The recycle bin, also known as the trash can or junk bin, is an easy way to dispose of objects on your computer that you no longer want or need, such as photos or documents.
How to add an item to the Recycle Bin?
To add an item to your recycle bin, select an item in one of your folders. Once you’ve selected an item, move your cursor over it. If you want to delete that file or folder immediately, press Delete. And instantly that file or folder is added, or sent, to the Recycle Bin.
How long do items stay in the Recycle Bin?
When you put something in your recycle bin, it’s not gone forever—it will stay there until you empty or otherwise clean out your recycle bin, or until that drive or folder gets wiped clean for some other reason.
How can be emptied or managed the Recycle Bin?
The recycle bin doesn’t just throw away files. First, it creates a pointer, called an alternate data stream (ADS), that points to every file you want to throw away. Then, when you empty your recycle bin, it just deletes that ADS and marks those files as being deleted. But they still remain on your hard drive—until your computer eventually overwrites them with new information.
Why is my Recycle Bin missing?
In most of the cases, only the Recycle Bin icon is missing from your desktop. May be you deleted the icon intentionally or accidentally. Windows Updates that make changes to your Windows settings can also cause the Recycle Bin to suddenly disappear from the desktop.